The committee is comprised of a body of staff members within the CHHS and the medical school with relevant expertise (e.g. knowledge of healthcare law, various kinds of research and nursing practice, and healthcare ethics), including the secretary of the committee.

The committee may co-opt external members where special expertise not present within the committee is needed.

The current membership and expertise of the committee are as follows:

Chair: Angela Smith

Health Care Law

Deputy Chair: Julia Parkhouse 

Child Law

Deputy Chair: Ingrid Pritchard


Dr Sarah Norris 


Jaynie Rance 

Public Health and Policy Studies

Steve Capey


Mr John Buckman

Lay member

Liv Kosnes

Swansea Centre for Health Economics (SCHE)

Athanasios Anastasiou

Health Informatics

Craig Toutt


Rachel Bird 

Committee Administrator 

Andrew Kemp


Dr Pete King

Public Health, Policy and Social Sciences

David Gallimore 

Senior Lecturer, Nursing

Ross Johnston


Julia Terry

Mental Health Nursing

Megan Crawford


Deborah Morgan 

Centre for Innovative Ageing 

Dr Christian Beech 

Dept. of Public Health, Policy and Social Sciences

Gideon Calder 

Public Health, Policy and Social Sciences 

David Gallimore


Members are normally appointed by the Head of College, or by a nominee of the Head of College, for a tenure of 2-3 years in the first instance.

Contact us

Use the links on the side to find further information, or contact the Committee's administrator, Dr Rachel Bird on or 01792 295280.