M Wynn Thomas Prize winner to be announced at launch event

The second M. Wynn Thomas Prize is being announced this week, in line with the launch of the International Journal of Welsh Writing in English on Wednesday October 16th

All are welcome to the launch event, which takes place at 6pm at the Callaghan Lecture Theatre, James Callaghan Building, Swansea University.  The event is free of charge.  

Campus Map showing the James Callaghan Building. 

Supported by Parthian, The Library of Wales, Swansea University and the Learned Society of Wales, the prize is for the best critical essays in the field of Welsh Writing in English, published or unpublished, in the calendar year 2012.
The prize is named in honour of Professor Wynn Thomas, the former Director and founder of CREW (the Centre for Research into the English Literature and Language of Wales) at Swansea University.

Professor Thomas is currently Chairman of the Welsh Books Council, and holds the Emyr Humphreys Chair of Welsh Writing in English at Swansea University. He was elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 1996, received the highest honour of the National Eisteddfod of Wales in 2000, and in 2007 was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) for services to the two literatures of Wales. He is currently serving as Vice-President of the Learned Society of Wales, with particular responsibility for the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

The judging panel, Professor Damian Walford Davies (Aberystwyth University), Dr Kevin Mills (University of Glamorgan and last year’s prize winner) and Dr Alyce von Rothkirch (Swansea University) were very pleased with the quality of the submissions overall. The winners’ work displayed exceptional scholarship as well as originality and are worthy of this important prize.