Learned Society of Wales announces nine new Fellows from Swansea University

The Learned Society of Wales has named nine academics from Swansea University among the newly elected Fellows.

LSW Fellows 2019

Forty-eight new Fellows have joined the Learned Society of Wales this year from across the arts, humanities, sciences, and beyond. Each new Fellow has contributed to the world of learning as researchers, academics, and professionals – and all come with a strong connection to Wales.

Election to the Fellowship is a public recognition of excellence, is keenly competed, and takes place following a rigorous examination of each nominee’s achievements in their relevant field(s).

Those joining the Fellowship from Swansea University this year are:

  • Professor Gert Aarts FLSW, Professor in the Department of Physics in the College of Science
  • Professor Arnold Beckmann FLSW, Professor and Head of Computer Science
  • Professor Hywel Francis FRHistS FLSW, Professor Emeritus
  • Professor Ann John FLSW, Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry and Deputy Head of the Medical School
  • Professor Venkateswarlu Kanamarlapudi DSc FRSB FRSC FABAP FLSW, Professor of Molecular Cell Biology and Pharmacology in the Medical School
  • Professor Hilary Lappin-Scott OBE FLSW, Senior Pro Vice-Chancellor
  • Professor Paul Meredith FLSW, Professor of Physics and Sêr Cymru Research Chair
  • Professor Julian Preece FLSW, Professor of German
  • Professor Patricia Skinner FRHistS FLSW, Personal Chair in History

Mrs Sally Roberts is also recognised by the Learned Society of Wales for her affiliation with Swansea University's Centre for Research into the English Literature and Language of Wales.

Swansea University’s Vice-Chancellor Elect, Professor Paul Boyle said: “Membership of the Learned Society of Wales is a hallmark of excellence.  This year, out of 48 newly elected Fellows from all over the UK, nine are from Swansea University. This demonstrates the calibre of our academics and highlights Swansea as a UK university with outstanding credentials.  I heartily congratulate our newly-elected Fellows on their awards and thank them for their dedication and inspirational work.”

Sir Emyr Jones Parry, President of the Learned Society of Wales, said: “I am delighted to welcome 48 new Fellows to the Society. Their election recognises their individual achievements and additions to the world of learning and I am pleased that they encompass such a range of research disciplines and beyond. The addition of these new Fellows will strengthen our capacity to champion excellence across all areas of academic and public life in Wales and abroad.”        
Established in 2010, the Learned Society of Wales uses the knowledge of its experts to promote research, inspire learning, and provide independent policy advice. The yearly addition of new Fellows aids the Society in achieving these aims.

The 2019 election is the ninth in a rolling process towards the building of a strong, representative Fellowship. The Society’s continuing focus on excellence and achievement will ensure that the Fellowship represents the very best of learning that Wales has to offer.

The full list of new Fellows elected is available here.