Grenoble Strategic Partner

Swansea - Grenoble Strategic Partnership

Grenoble Campus

Swansea University has an institutional strategic partnership with the Communauté Université Grenoble Alpes  (COMUE) which is a major university and scientific city in the Auvergne Rhone-Alpes region of France.  The Swansea and Grenoble (UGA) strategic partnership was established in 2012/13. 

The Communauté Université Grenoble Alpes  (COMUE)

The COMUE is a community of universities and higher education institutions & research organisations and consists of: Université Grenoble Alpes (which was created on 1 January 2016 as a result of the merger of Universities Joseph Fourier, Pierre Mendès-France and Stendhal); Grenoble Institute of Technology (Ecole Polytechnique); CNRS and INRIA. It’s associated institutions are the Grenoble National School of Architecture; Sciences Po Grenoble; Université Savoie Mont Blanc and CEA. It currently consists of over 64,000 students, 5 higher educational institutions, 3 national research bodies, 14 Doctoral schools, 3,700 PhD students and 7,200 international students. It is one of the leading French institutions for the excellence of teaching, their international outlook, academic innovations and the employability of their students.

It is a unique, institution wide multi disciplinary collaboration. It includes:

  • Joint Doctoral Degrees;
  • Collaborating on Funding Bids;
  • Student and Staff Exchange;
  • Joint Master’s programmes;
  • Sharing Intelligence, Innovation, Best Practice and Expertise;
  • Sharing Facilities and Partnership Networks.

For further information on the partnership contact